I Buy A Kindle

kin·dle1

–verb (used with object)

1. to start (a fire); cause (a flame, blaze, etc.) to begin burning.

2. to set fire to or ignite (fuel or any combustible matter).

3. to excite; stir up or set going; animate; rouse; inflame: He kindled their hopes of victory.

I bought a Kindle.  God, do I love my Kindle.  Wanna know what I have read so far?  Well, I’ve read some crap for sure.  My first search in the Amazon Kindle store was “zombie.”  My second search in the Amazon Kindle store was “zombies.”

You might find this hard to believe, but there aren’t that many good zombie books.  I really do enjoy Joe McKinney.  He writes like George R. Romero makes movies.  I’m sure I’ll find more zombie writers that I like.  Hopefully.

Zombies fairly quickly exhausted, I had to find something else to read.  I don’t remember how, but I discovered a genre called “bizarro.”  I read Jordan Krall’s Fistful of Feet.  That was an eye opener.  It’s a tribute to spaghetti westerns and H.P. Lovecraft and squid and foot festishes.  It amused me, but I didn’t run out looking for more squid shit like it.

Jaye Manus recommended Scott Sigler’s Blood Is Red, a really fun book of short stories.  I give it a big thumb’s up, although Scott is my least favorite name to the point where I cannot possibly remember what a man’s name is if it happens to be Scott.  I have a friend who is married to a man named Scott.  I have to think carefully whenever I ask how her husband is.  True story.

The point of all of this is that my Kindle did something I’d hoped it would do, which is open up a world of books that I wouldn’t have been able to find in a million years in Barnes and Noble Gifts With Some Oprah Book Club Books Somewhere In The Back Store.

And, to tell the truth, I bought the Kindle as a market research tool.  Jaye is helping me publish a small ebook collection of my own short stories.  Get ready, world!  Me and Jaye are going digital.

P.S.

I’m working on a zombie book.


.


 

This entry was posted in What's News In Marina Land and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Buy A Kindle

  1. JW Manus says:

    David Wellington and Mira Grant write the best zombie novels. Lots and lots of grue and gore.

  2. qmbridges says:

    The opinions expressed by Jaye are not necessarily the opinions of the author.

  3. JW Manus says:

    The opinions expressed by Jaye often contain State secrets, elaborate codes, keys to kingdoms and are guaranteed Fat Free! and always yummy and good for you.

Leave a Reply

